Rimon – Black Tag

I do believe that this wine requires a post on its own, mainly because it’s not that every day we get to drink a rimon_dessert_winewine made purely on pomegranate. Rimon Winery (Rimon – pomegranate in Hebrew) produces several wines that are not made using grapes, a fact that is rather unusual in the world of wine, if we should even consider such a drink as a wine.Its been a few months now that one of their wines was sitting in my wine cabinet waiting to be opened.

This wine is interesting mainly because it is different in its levels of intensity. As I pooped the cork the room was immediately swept by a sweet intoxicating scent reminding of cherry liquor. In the glass the wine displayed a beautiful deep purple with brown shades. A wild nose revealing a mixture of sweet chocolate and tequila, a few more minutes and the scent saddled down showing a more delicate cherry and even some liquorice. Throughout the whole time I could file the alcohol sting in my nose. On the pallet intense cherry and acidity of a pomegranate and generous amount of chocolate. Firm tannin which goes stronger as time goes by.

Undoubtedly an interesting wine, different then what we, wine lovers, are accustomed to.

One Response

  1. intersting wine.
    i myself tried a few pom. wines, but i cant say i like them. they taste more like liqour than wine.
    different, but not better. also pricey for me.
    not my usual wine, but maybe for Rosh Hashana…
    slainte!

Leave a comment